NaNoWriMo 2014 – mckendricksaga.wordpress.com

So as I gear up for NaNoWriMo this year, I created a separate blog for those that want to follow the story as it evolves. I decided to put last years story on hold – I think those characters just aren’t quite ready to reveal themselves to me, even though I have the story pretty well plotted out.

So this year, I decided to play around with another story I’ve had in my mind for a dozen or so years. As I began to think about it, I realized it’s actually not one book, but three, which explains why I had such a hard time every time I sat down to write it. Just too much information and not enough space to convey it all. As a result, The McKendrick Saga was born.

The trilogy is essentially about a brother (Jared McKendrick) and his younger sister (Jolene McKendrick), and how their relationship and lives are impacted by the tumultuous events of the decade leading up to the civil war. So many of the novels written about this time period focus on the more well known stories of plantation life, but there are so many unknown little historical tidbits that are not only fascinating, they are downright thrilling.

I’m planning to cover a lot of territory, beginning with the height of the abolition movement in Boston in 1854 in the first book “Winds of Change” [working title]. From there we move to the 1855-1859 border wars and “Bleeding Kansas” in book two “An Ill Wind Blows.” We wrap up the series with the Pony Express, the Indian Wars, and the new state of California (and it’s role in the Civil War) in book three, “Ride the Wind.”

Here’s the synopsis of book 1: “Winds of Change”:

Jared McKendrick may have been born in lowly circumstances, but all that changed when his father married the most eligible socialite in Boston. Quickly rising in the ranks of the Boston abolitionist movement, Jared is determined to put all of his high society perks–connections, money, even his Harvard law degree– to use defending the rights of the defenseless. But when the city erupts in riots over the fugitive slave act, and his much-loved younger sister is caught in the crossfire, Jared is faced with a choice he never imagined he’d have to make –one that might mean abandoning everything he’s ever wanted to save the people he loves most.

If that sounds even remotely interesting to you, I’d be so honored if you would follow the blog and be a reading/writing buddy (I could really use a few :). You can follow that blog at:

Mckendricksaga.wordpress.com

Thanks and happy Wrimo-ing!!

Leave a Reply

